Madison County Youth Leadership Class for 2015-2016 Announced

Canton, MS: Jan Collins, Executive Director of the Madison County Business League and Foundation, announced today that the Youth Leadership class for the
2015-2016 school year has been chosen. “Based on their activity sheets, this class is the most outstanding by far,” said Collins. “The schools have
selected the best and brightest. They are extremely academic, involved in sports, leadership, music, community service and church. They are all very
well rounded.”

The mission of the program is to inspire and educate area students about the variety of leading businesses which offer excellent career opportunities in
Madison County. The students will also learn about local, county and state governments as well as Madison County’s quality of life. Several motivational
keynote speakers and successful business leaders will share character and leadership skills designed to develop future leaders for Madison County.

The program involves three days: Economic Development Career Day, Lifestyles Day and Government Day. The class will also be invited to the MCBL&F’s
annual VISIONS Celebration luncheon on November 17 as well as the 2016 League & Legislature luncheon on February 24, 2016. A graduation reception
will be held in the spring, where the MCBL&F Board of Directors will present students completing all three days with a $250 scholarship.

Students selected to participate in the Youth Leadership Class include:

Canton Academy

  • Joseph Smith
  • Mary Breiten Webb

Canton High School

  • Makayla Garrett
  • Jamarius Brown

Germantown High School

  • Miles Murphy
  • Anna Shepard

Jackson Academy

  • Meg Rice
  • Catherine Burford

Madison Ridgeland Academy

  • Clay Chance
  • Savanna Tillman

Madison Central High School

  • Harrison McKinnis
  • Emily Zhang

New Summit School

  • Lelia Huggs
  • Brandon Porter

Ridgeland High School

  • Kelvin So
  • Blythe Blackwell
  • Anshul Anugu
  • Mary Kate Shearer

St. Andrew’s Episcopal High School

  • Lauren Ousby
  • Andrew Speetjens

St. Joseph Catholic High School

  • Bradley Reynolds
  • Caroline Doherty

Tri County Academy

  • Rachel Cole
  • Swayze Bozeman

Velma Jackson High School

  • Kentesa Linn
  • Mekhi Ross

A privately funded 501 © 6 non-profit economic development stakeholder and support organization, the purpose of the Madison County Business League
& Foundation is to act in partnership with the Madison County Economic Development Authority to provide the County a unique opportunity to unite
the public and private sectors; thereby, encouraging proper planning for future growth and development.