New Employee Retention Credit for Hurricane Affected Areas

On September 29, 2017; the President signed into law the Disaster Tax Relief and Airport and Airway Extension Act of 2017.
This law was designed to provide tax relief to victims of Hurricanes Harvey, Irma and Maria.

One of the provisions is an employee retention credit of 40 percent of up to $6,000 in wages paid by an “eligible employer”. An eligible employer is defined
as one which became inoperable anytime from the date of the hurricane to January 1, 2018. The wages must be paid to an “eligible employees”, which
is defined as an individual whose place of work for such employer was in the disaster area.

The employee retention credit applies to parts of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, Texas and all municipalities in Puerto Rico.

If you have employees in the states above and need additional information, please contact MyHRConcierge at 855-538-6947 ext 108 or