The 2014-15 Madison County Youth Leadership Class

The Madison County Business League & the Madison County Economic Development Authority present the 2014-15 Madison County Youth Leadership Class. Economic Development: Career Day was held on Wednesday, October 29, 2014. Twenty-seven of the best and brightest juniors from each public, private and parochial high schools in Madison County, plus Jackson Academy and New Summit School, were selected by their administration to represent their respective schools. Four college and university mentors representing the University of Southern Mississippi, Tulane University – Madison Campus, Millsaps College, and Holmes Community College – Ridgeland Campus, serve as mentors for the class.

The law firm of Adams & Reese hosted a breakfast sponsored by Holmes Community College. Guest Speaker was Founder and Chairman of the Board for Bomgar Corporation, Joel Bomgar. Lunch was hosted and sponsored by Metropolitan Bank where Curt Gabardi, Founder/President/CEO, gave a presentation on careers in banking and finance. The class and mentors traveled around the county to other businesses where various careers and professions were highlighted by community leaders and professionals. In addition to Bomgar, Adams & Reese, and Metropolitan Bank, businesses participating in Career Day included Horne, LLP, Mad Genius, Dale Partners Architects, MSU CAVS Extension, and Madison River Oaks Medical Center. Dale Partners sponsored the Madison County Citizens Services Agency Bus and the students enjoyed snacks provided by Bumpers!

Above Photo
Front row ( l-r): Hayes Norris, Canton Academy; Chi’Keecian Parker, Canton High School; Jack Collins, St. Joe; Mary Reid Dixon, MRA; John Tucker Mitchell, St. Andrew’s; Annalee Purdie, Jackson Academy; Chandler Henry, Madison Central High School; and Amy McDonald, Madison Central High School.

Middle row (l-r): Kirby Mitchell, Ridgeland High School; Luci Strong, St. Joe; Anna Daniels, MRA; Juliette Richert, Ridgeland High School; Cassidy Jones, Tri-County Academy; Freddy Garcia, New Summit School; Wilson Montjoy, St. Andrew’s; Jaylen Taylor, Canton High School; Gracie McGill, New Summit School; Madeline Beard, The Veritas; Breanna Horn, Canton High School; Kice Brown, Germantown High School, and Meredith Rand, St. Andrew’s.

Top Row (l-r): Kendall Clarke, The Veritas; Perrin Bauder, Germantown High School; Kyle Kantor, Jackson Academy; Kendall Murry, Velma Jackson High School; Justin Lake Grewe, Tri-County Academy; and Matt Taylor, Canton Academy.

Above photo: University and College Mentors for the 2014-15 Class are Jake Ponder, Tulane University – Madison Campus; Macala Boxx, Holmes Community College; Kierstan Knaus, University of Southern Mississippi; and Daniel Gallarno, Millsaps College. 

Above photo: Madison County Business League Members serving on the 2014-15 Youth Leadership Committee include Jan Collins, Madison County Business League; Dean Sherry Chance, Tulane University – Madison Campus; Jessica Gosa, MCEDA; Dr. Don Burnham, Holmes Community College – Ridgeland Campus; Pat McNulty, Security Ballew; Rochelle Culp, MS Tobacco Free Coalition; and Career Day Chairman, Amanda Fontaine, MS Burn Foundation. Not pictured are Joe Donovan, Millsaps College; Suzanne Sullivan, Belhaven University; Monica Harrigill, Jackie’s International; Monte Barton, Jernigan, Copeland and Anderson; Liz Woodall, The Headache Center; John Taylor, The Taylor Industries; and Debbie Weems, IBM.

View more photos